Coldfront Forums

Go Back   Coldfront Forums > Kingdom of Loathing > Coldfront
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Coldfront General site related stuff, suggestions, etc

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 8th, 2007, 08:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Frugal
Luke warm
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Frugal is on a distinguished road
Default Invasive banner ad on KoLwiki redirects and fakes error message

While browsing the KoL wiki, some banner ad (I assume) for performanceoptimizer.com minimized my browser when I clicked on some text in the middle of an article, gave me a fake error message, then redirected me to their website. When I closed that tab, it gave me like 3 popup dialogue windows in a row trying to get me to use their "service".

A different site (the "DVD Talk Forum") has had this problem. You may want to try asking them how they fixed it.

Last edited by Frugal : November 8th, 2007 at 08:33 AM. Reason: clarification
Frugal is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2007, 08:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Clackling
KoL Site Manager
 
Clackling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 316
Clackling is on a distinguished road
Default

Wow, I've never seen that before, and I apologize for what you had to put up with. Typically, we try and capture a screenshot of the ad, as well as the URL it links to, because we can then send it back to the ad company to block that ad from coming through. However, this could also be adware, could it not? Are you sure your computer is clean?
__________________
Clackling is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2007, 11:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Holy
Luke warm
 
Holy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NH
Posts: 8
Holy is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Holy
Default

I got the same thing from browsing the wiki.

Not sure which one gave it to me but i got it when i clicked random page (probably dosen't help much)
__________________
We dont sell shakes...We sell FROSTIES....

well exCUSE ME.
Holy is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2007, 02:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mag
Drunk admin.., no really..
 
Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 360
Mag has disabled reputation
Send a message via ICQ to Mag Send a message via MSN to Mag
Default

We're trying to track down which advertiser is popping this banner up, but that's easier said then done..

So we're still hunting it
__________________
Mag is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2007, 11:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
maiaflute
Luke warm
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
maiaflute is on a distinguished road
Default I've seen it too.

I know you guys are working on it, so no pressure or anything. But I've had fun with it several times already. I looked around on the internet and ran across some information on the fixthemnow drive-by download, which is what this seemed to be to me.

Last edited by maiaflute : November 14th, 2007 at 11:32 PM.
maiaflute is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2007, 08:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Clackling
KoL Site Manager
 
Clackling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 316
Clackling is on a distinguished road
Default

Again, if you're seeing it, send me a screenshot and, if possible, the URL that the link takes you to (before redirection....right-click to find the URL). It's much easier if we have data about it.
__________________
Clackling is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2007, 02:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
FrostByghte
Coolest admin on the net
 
FrostByghte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 341
FrostByghte has disabled reputation
Default

I could use the JS source of the ad, then I can find it. I need to be able to trace it back to the advertiser.
__________________
FrostByghte - frostbyghte@coldfront.net

The all unknowning and never powerful FrostByghte!!!
FrostByghte is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2007, 05:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mag
Drunk admin.., no really..
 
Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 360
Mag has disabled reputation
Send a message via ICQ to Mag Send a message via MSN to Mag
Default

More info on slashdot:
Slashdot | Hackers Use Banner Ads on Major Sites to Hijack Your PC

And a video on explaining the thing and why it's such a bitch to track:
YouTube - Major League Baseball Strikes out

I've been seeing this ad for quite a while now (months), very rarely though, only once a month maybe, but due to the redirecting nature it's really difficult to see where it comes from
__________________
Mag is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2007, 02:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
discosis
Luke warm
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
discosis is on a distinguished road
Default

Various intrusive ads have actually been popping up on the wiki for months, but this last one finally prompted me to look here. No clue about the javascript, but this is a screenshot of what happens:

http://www.vanderwaa.com/zut/kol_col...i_popup_ad.gif

And the URL it points to is:
WARNING: You must protect your system from threats!

is that enough info?
discosis is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2007, 02:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
discosis
Luke warm
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
discosis is on a distinguished road
Default

No idea about the js, but this is a screendump of what happens:
http://www.vanderwaa.com/zut/kol_col...i_popup_ad.gif

and the evil URL is:

hxxp://avsystemcare.com/data/?gai=tr9vel0n&gli=intl&3&tmn=av1&mt_info=4094_1538 _197&tmn=null&45080108

does that help?

Mind you: the first time I posted this avsystemcare thingy, ten minutes ago, it renamed itself once posted, and then my entire message disappeared. Moderated?
discosis is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC6